Propagating Box Hedging

Image

Over the last few months we’ve been rather busy laying a new drive at our home.  This has involved some fairly extensive ground clearance and to my husband’s great delight the hiring of a mini digger!!  We’re finally at the stage where we can begin to plan our new garden design and this involves cultivating quite a lot of box hedging!

Moving Self Seeded Cuttings

We’re very lucky that we have established box plants already in our garden and where possible we’ve taken established self seeded plants and replanted along our drive using a good rich compost and mycorrhizal fungi root grow to provide a healthy root system.  However, we still need to create two new beds and have decided the most cost-effective solution is to propagate our own. 

Propagating Box Hedging From Cuttings

I started by taking 10cm cuttings from the new growth from my box hedge.   This month we’ve been giving our hedges one last trim before the winter and I’ve used the off  shots.  Box can be tricky to propagate so please do take more cuttings than you require when propagating.

I began by removing the lower leaves on the stem and soaking these cuttings in water overnight away from direct sunlight. 

The next morning I filled 40 propagating pots with compost and watered.  Taking my presoaked cuttings, I then dipped the end into organic rooting gel and placed the root cutting into the compost filled pot.  I put 3 cuttings in each pot. 

To ensure success it’s very important to keep your cuttings warm and in a light place to cultivate good root growth. 

Making Your Own Propagator

Once all the cuttings had been potted I placed my tray on top of my chest freezer in a glass walk way between my home and garage that I use as a makeshift greenhouse.  Taking a sheet of clear polythene, I’ve wrapped this carefully around the cuttings, ensuring that the polythene doesn’t touch the shoots.  I’ve used wine bottles to suspend the polythene and have stored in a light place but away from harsh direct sunlight.  A greenhouse or cold frame would also be ideal.

I’ll now wait for 10 weeks to see if the cuttings take.

An Alternative Method

My Father-in-Law follows the same method but adds a line of sand to the compost when planting his cuttings.

Good luck and Happy Propagating!!

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Propagating Box Hedging

  1. Wow, you’ve been so busy. Ten weeks is such a long time to wait….fingers crossed they will have taken. Well done

Leave a Reply

