Home-Made Christmas Gifts and Fresh Cream Chocolate Truffles!

Lavender Bags for Grandma!

Grandchildren collecting lavender

One of the most treasured presents I’ve ever received was a drawing by a friend and her family, of all my favourite things.  I was extremely touched by this kind gesture, and believe the success to homemade present giving is making the gift personal and pertinent to the recipient.

If you’ve a friend whose a Chocoholic this recipe is simply fantastic.  My trendy young sister often makes me a batch of Fresh Cream Truffles when she comes to stay at Christmas.  If you can bear to share, here’s how to make them: 

Ingredients

150ml fresh double cream

350g *plain chocolate, broken up

2 tbsp liqueur (we favour Bailey’s!!!)

25g unsalted butter

Extra chocolate for dipping, and grated white and plain chocolate for decoration. 

*My favourite childhood treat was a Milky Bar, so my sister makes the whole truffle in white chocolate!

Method

Heat the cream in a small pan until boiling, then remove from the heat, adding the chocolate and stirring until melted.  Add the liqueur and butter, and continue to stir until the butter has melted, then pour into a bowl.  Place the bowl in the freezer for 20 minutes or until it’s firm enough to hold its shape.  Using a melon baller, scoop out rounds and place onto non-stick baking paper, and chill until firm.  Melt the extra chocolate and dip the truffle into this, and then roll into grated chocolate or leave plain – delicious!!!

Other Gift Ideas

Home-made Tea Cosy!

My Mother is a complete tea addict, so this Christmas I’ve made her a Tea Cosy!  I’m not the world’s greatest needlewoman, but it doesn’t matter, as I’m sure my present will make my Mum laugh and hopefully she’ll think of me every time she uses her teapot!  I’ve also bought her some Red Roses scent from Jo Malone, so she doesn’t feel too overwhelmed by all her home-made pressies!

I’ve still got a few last-minute presents to buy and have been browsing the following sites:

For something super stylish, I don’t think you can beat Debrett’s beautiful leather diaries.  They’re on special offer at the moment at £25:96, which is a huge saving of 35%.  I’m a sucker for a deal, and have succumbed to temptation, buying one for myself in Duck Egg Blue!

Alison Van Der Lande is one of the UK’s top Handbag Designers and this season I’m coveting her makeup bags, which I think make the perfect gift for the Girl About Town.

For the man in your life, look no further than Lions Rampant.  I love this company and  particularly like the men’s PJ’s, although unfortunately, they’ve sold out in my husband’s size.

Finally, for active children, there’s something for everyone at Micro-Scooters.  I especially like the den kit and boys’ vintage washbag as well as the roller skates.  My daughter is desperate for the go-kart after test-driving one at a friend’s house this morning!

Happy Christmas shopping!

 
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

