The Art of Drying Flowers

I’d never been a huge fan of dried flowers until a few months ago, when I celebrated a milestone birthday and dried some of the roses from my party.  Since then I’ve been experimenting and in a few weeks time plan to make a heart-shaped Christmas wreath using ivy from my garden and an assortment of dried rose heads.

 If you haven’t dried your own flowers before it’s incredibly simple.  All I do is wait until my fresh flower arrangements have reached their prime and just as they’re about to wilt, I pluck them from their vase.  I then tie the stalks with garden twine and hang them upside down in my airing cupboard for one to two weeks until they’re completely dry.  The trick to maintaining a perfect flower head shape is to ensure that none of the flowers are touching each other during the drying process.

Drying Garden Hydrangeas

When your hydrangeas are in full bloom and at their prime cut them early in the morning while it’s still cool.   For wreath making cut stems at an angle 2-3 inches from the flower head or longer if displaying them in a flower arrangement, remembering to remove any foliage at the same time.  Finally, tie their stems together and hang upside down in a dark airing cupboard for one-two weeks until completely dry.

Shopping

 If you’re in a hurry Verdi produce top quality professionally dried flowers.  Their stock list includes roses, hydrangeas, gardenia, orchids and carnation heads in an impressive spectrum of colours.  Dried Lavender and Roses provide a similar service offering a fabulous assortment of dried lavender and fruit.

For a traditional dried flower arrangement Forever Flowers has an assortment of dried or pressed flowers in loose bunches or arrangements.  I adore their peony and rose petal Wedding Day Confetti – perfect for a Kate and William!

Happy flower drying!!!

This entry was posted in Creative Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Art of Drying Flowers

  1. Teresa B. says:

    I was looking for an arrangement that would work for my roses from my sisters wedding and found your page. I just love your arrangement in the pot. May I ask what type of flowers you used to surround your roses? Is it a dried flower as well? Thanks!

    • Hi Teresa – I surrounded the roses with dried hydragena heads. This particular hydragena had tiny flower heads so it worked well with the roses. However, if you don’t have access to hydragenas I think dried lavender would work just as well. (Just pick a large bunch first thing in the morning, tie with string and hang upside down until dried). I wish you huge success with your sister’s wedding and thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog. Happy New Year – Lizzie xxxx

  2. Ryan Field says:

    I’m also drying wedding flowers and your arrangement was the only one that really caught my eye. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

